We are pleased to announce that after over three months of closure and much thoughtful preparation, the Charles Allis Art Museum is now open to the general public. Our staff did not make this decision to reopen lightly, and we continue to follow the guidelines of health authorities closely to ensure our visitors and our staff can safely enjoy their visit.  Admission will be by online reservation only. Tickets may be purchased by visiting our Plan Your Visit page. More information on health and safety guidelines for your visit will be provided when registering. We look forward to seeing you again soon at the museum! 

Exhibition Information

Back to Past Exhibitions Calendar

Forward 2018

A Survey of Wisconsin Art Now

November 15, 2018 – April 14, 2019

The Charles Allis Art Museum’s biennial Forward 2018: A Survey of Wisconsin Art Now exhibition, is a state-wide juried exhibition of artwork created by Wisconsin artists.

Jurors Faythe Levine, Arts/Industry program manager and assistant curator at the John Michael Kohler Arts Center, and Ariel Pate, assistant curator of Photography at the Milwaukee Art Museum will select works in a variety of artistic mediums, techniques, and styles to represent Wisconsin art today. They selected 45 works from the 458 works submitted by artists throughout the entire state, all the way from Cushing to Racine, Springbrook to Benton.

Exhibiting artists include: Alyssa Ackerman, Joe Acri, Josh Anderson, Noël Ash, Siara Berry, Steve Burnham, Amy Cannestra, Jeffrey Clancy, Tim Day, Jacob Docksey, Austin Fischer, Madeline Glaspey, Janelle Gramling, Sheila Held, Patricia Hidson, Maeve Jackson, Robin Jebavy, Jean Judd, J Myszka Lewis, Christine B. Miller, Joseph Mougel, Melissa Paré, Mike Paré, Joseph Pine, Jeremy Plunkett, Pete Railand and Jenna Valoe, Hal Rammel, Taylor Rushing, Emma Smith, Ben Talatzko, Ariana Vaeth, Jason Van Roo, Arthur Vannoy, Michael Ware, and Diane Washa.

Opening Reception: Thursday, November 15, 2018, 6:00-8:00 p.m.
Members’ preview 5:30-6:00 p.m.

Talk by jurors Faythe Levine and Ariel Pate and awards ceremony at 7:00 p.m.


The Grand Prize (1) - $1000

Awards of Excellence (2) - $500 each

Margaret Rahill Memorial Award (1) - $400

Director’s Choice Award (1) - $300

Viewer’s Choice Award* (1) - $200

All awards are generously provided by The Friends of the Charles Allis.

*Voting for Viewer’s Choice will take place at the opening reception on November 15th and will be announced online on Monday, November 19th.