October 27 - February 19, 2017

Welcome to Forward 2016:Ā  A Survey of Wisconsin Art, the Charles Allis Art Museum’s biennial exhibition featuring the work of Wisconsin artists. Forward is our largest exhibition at the Charles Allis, as we open our doors and gallery spaces to artists from all over Wisconsin. Our jurors always have the difficult task of selecting from hundreds of works of art, and this year was no exception: jurors Brent Budsberg and Susan Barnett reviewed 350 submissions before choosing the 60 that make up the exhibition. We are grateful for their insight and dedication, and for making Forward 2016 a success.

What makes Forward a beloved tradition at the Charles Allis is the variety of artistic mediums, techniques, and cultures that intersect in a single exhibition. Realistic or abstract, political or personal, these works become a combined narrative of the Wisconsin art scene. Forward highlights this narrative and lets the art speak for itself.

It is especially appropriate that an exhibition like this be housed at the Charles Allis. Charles and Sarah Allis dedicated their lives to the art world, and have the art collection to prove it. When they bequeathed their home to Milwaukee County, they wanted to give back to the community that had made their lives so much richer; they wanted their home to continue being enriched by art, especially from Wisconsin. ____________________________________________________________

Grand Prize: James Pederson, The Miracle in Mike's Apartment

Award of Excellence: Lois Bielefeld, Mary and Jillian - Riverwest. 2015

Award of Excellence: Kevin Giese, Murmur

Margaret Rahill Memorial Award: Rafael Salas, Two Cats (World Without End #2)

Honorable Mention: Maureen Fritchen, What Came My Way - January 2016

Director's Choice: Michael Ware, E.B.D.B.B.N.B.

Viewer's Choice: Matthew Warren Lee, The Tempest

Selected Artists:
Timothy Abler, Lois Bielefeld, Larry Booth, Cynthia Brinich-Langlois, Jim Brozek, Valerie Christell, CathyJean CLark, Martha Coaty, Brandi Collins, Stephanie Copoulos-Selle, Eddee Daniel, Maureen Fritchen, Kevin Giese, Patricia Hidson, Andrea Hudson, Kitty Kingston, Eric Koester, Philip Krejcarek, Susan Estelle Kwas, Karla Lauden, Guntis Lauzums, Matthew Lee, J. Myszka Lewis, Valerie Mangion, Lindsay Marx, Jeanne Nikolai Olivieri, Josie Osborne, James Pederson, Nirmal Raja, Vicki Reed, Sara Risley, Janet Roberts. Kerri Root, Katie Ryan, Rafael Salas, Lawrence Sanders, Eric Schoen, Marc Tasman, Jason Van Roo, Arthur Vannoy, Michael Ware, Kiefer Waterman, Rochelle Weiner, Charles Wickler, Sara Willadsen, Ryan Woolgar


About the Jurors:

SUSAN BARNETT's titles include art center director, business owner, gallerist, photographer, and curator. She earned a BA in fine art-printmaking from Montana State University and received her MA in art history from UW-Milwaukee in 2011. Since moving to Milwaukee in 2003, she directed the Cedarburg Cultural Center, coordinated the John Michael Kohler Arts Center's Arts/Industry 40-year exhibition and publication, and served on the board of CoPA Milwaukee. Recent projects include co-curating and writing for the Portrait Society Gallery's 2015 Wis.Con.Sin exhibition and writing Roy Staab: Suspended in Time in conjunction with his 2016 exhibition at Villa Terrace Decorative Arts Museum. She currently works as an independent curator and writer and manages a significant private collection.

BRENT BUDSBERG is a visual artist, designer and woodworker living in Milwaukee, WI. Since 2013 he has worked as an exhibition designer in collaboration with the Chipstone Foundation, the Haggerty Museum, the Museum of Wisconsin Art, the Milwaukee Art Museum and Lynden Sculpture Garden. He has also taught sculpture, woodworking and travel study courses at The Milwuakee Institiute of Art and Design. Together with his wife and collaborator, Shana McCaw, he won the Mary L. Nohl Fellowship for Individual Artists in the established category in 2008 and also in 2014. Recent exhibitions include Living Rooms at the John Michael Kohler Arts Center, The Museum of Rooms at the Chipstone Foundation, and The Vanishing Point at Portrait Society Gallery.


Carlos Heromsilla Álverez & Colin Matthes

March 16 - June 25, 2017

Information forthcoming!