October 27 - February 19, 2016

Opening Reception, Thursday October 27th

6:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

5:30-6:00 p.m. Members Preview

7:00 p.m. Juror's Talk and Award Ceremony

Join us for the opening reception of Forward 2016: A Survey of Wisconsin Art Now, an exhibition highlighting contemporary work from artists all over the state. Those in attendance will vote for the Viewer's Choice Award, granting the winner $100. All other awards (listed below) will be announced at 7 PM and jurors Brent Budsberg and Susan Barnett will speak about their process of choosing the artwork included in the exhibition.

Awards include: The Grand Prize - $1000, (2) Awards of Excellence - $600 each, Margaret Rahill Memorial Award - $400, Honorable Mention Award - $200, Director’s Choice Award - $100

All awards are generously provided by the Friends of Charles Allis with funds donated by Kathy Pfister.

Forward 2016 celebrates and supports the talented individuals in our communities and shows just how much Wisconsin has to offer. We look forward to celebrating these artists with you during the run of the exhibition.

Selected Artists:
Timothy Abler, Lois Bielefeld, Larry Booth, Cynthia Brinich-Langlois, Jim Brozek, Valerie Christell, CathyJean CLark, Martha Coaty, Brandi Collins, Stephanie Copoulos-Selle, Eddee Daniel, Maureen Fritchen, Kevin Giese, Patricia Hidson, Andrea Hudson, Kitty Kingston, Eric Koester, Philip Krejcarek, Susan Estelle Kwas, Karla Lauden, Guntis Lauzums, Matthew Lee, J. Myszka Lewis, Valerie Mangion, Lindsay Marx, Jeanne Nikolai Olivieri, Josie Osborne, James Pederson, Nirmal Raja, Vicki Reed, Sara Risley, Janet Roberts. Kerri Root, Katie Ryan, Rafael Salas, Lawrence Sanders, Eric Schoen, Marc Tasman, Jason Van Roo, Arthur Vannoy, Michael Ware, Kiefer Waterman, Rochelle Weiner, Charles Wickler, Sara Willadsen, Ryan Woolgar

About the Jurors:

SUSAN BARNETT's titles include art center director, business owner, gallerist, photographer, and curator. She earned a BA in fine art-printmaking from Montana State University and received her MA in art history from UW-Milwaukee in 2011. Since moving to Milwaukee in 2003, she directed the Cedarburg Cultural Center, coordinated the John Michael Kohler Arts Center's Arts/Industry 40-year exhibition and publication, and served on the board of CoPA Milwaukee. Recent projects include co-curating and writing for the Portrait Society Gallery's 2015 Wis.Con.Sin exhibition and writing Roy Staab: Suspended in Time in conjunction with his 2016 exhibition at Villa Terrace Decorative Arts Museum. She currently works as an independent curator and writer and manages a significant private collection.

BRENT BUDSBERG is a visual artist, designer and woodworker living in Milwaukee, WI. Since 2013 he has worked as an exhibition designer in collaboration with the Chipstone Foundation, the Haggerty Museum, the Museum of Wisconsin Art, the Milwaukee Art Museum and Lynden Sculpture Garden. He has also taught sculpture, woodworking and travel study courses at The Milwuakee Institiute of Art and Design. Together with his wife and collaborator, Shana McCaw, he won the Mary L. Nohl Fellowship for Individual Artists in the established category in 2008 and also in 2014. Recent exhibitions include Living Rooms at the John Michael Kohler Arts Center, The Museum of Rooms at the Chipstone Foundation, and The Vanishing Point at Portrait Society Gallery.